jump to navigation

Drinking Living Water-Day 13 March 21, 2011

Posted by michaelnjohns in Uncategorized.
trackback

Drinking Living Water Through a Fire Hose – Day 13: II Samuel 14-I Kings 7, Psalm 67-69, Proverbs 13, John 20-Acts 6

This is harder than I thought. Day 13 and I fell asleep instead of being able to blog last night. Today is Day 14, and I woke up at 3:30 AM to write this. I will write again tonight before going to sleep, to keep pace. But this is what happened last time, so I shouldn’t be surprised. Last time when I fell behind I just gave up. This weekend I actually thought I would get a day or 2 ahead in the readings. And then the weekend got away from me. God, please help me to finish on time.

II Samuel 20- Absalom gets a pardon for killing his brother Amnon (after Amnon rapes his half-sister Tamar). I would think it would have been easier for David to pardon him, after all, grace has already been extended to David after he declared that he himself should die for doing what he did to Uriah (and Bathsheba for that matter). Absalom is vain and power hungry and has himself declared king in Hebron. On the advice of Ahithophel, Absalom sleeps with David’s concubines- it’s another declaration of Absalom’s power being greater than David’s, while David is yet the King. Ahithophel later hangs himself. Traitor to the king, advises to kill him, then hangs himself. How like Judas! Absalom’s vanity gets the better of him II Samuel 18, his hair hangs him up in a tree and his donkey runs on without him. Joab kills Absalom and David grieves for his vain, power hungry son. II Samuel 20 – Sheba’s rebellion, Joab’s fierce loyalty for David shows again.
II Samuel 21: After that, God answered prayer in behalf of the land.

22:17 “He reached down from on high and took hold of me; he drew me out of deep waters. 18 He rescued me from my powerful enemy, from my foes, who were too strong for me.
19 They confronted me in the day of my disaster, but the LORD was my support. 20 He brought me out into a spacious place; he rescued me because he delighted in me.

II Samuel 24, David took a census and the Lord punished all Israel because of it. David bought a threshing floor and built an altar there to sacrifice and ask God’s forgiveness. I Kings 1, David declares Solomon his successor. Adonijah fears for his life but Solomon says unless he is evil he has nothing to fear. I Kings 3- Solomon has replaced the old guard (by bloodshed), killed the other successors to the throne (for their treachery) and now his kingdom is secure. He asks for wisdom from God, which is granted. I Kings 6- Solomon commissions builders for the temple, it is built. 7- He builds a palace for himself, and a house for his wife the daughter of Pharaoh.

Psalm 68 19 Praise be to the Lord, to God our Savior, who daily bears our burdens. 20 Our God is a God who saves;

Psalm 69 it’s prophetic of the crucifixion but also the cry of my heart- save me, I’m up to my neck in trouble!!

John 20- Jesus, risen from the dead, appears to Mary Magdalene, later to his disciples. Thomas believes when he sees. 21 Miraculous fishing trip, Peter is commissioned after his denial. Acts 1- Jesus ascends to heaven, Matthias is chosen to replace Judas. So who replaced Ahithophel?

Acts 2- Pentecost. The church grows. Acts 3- Peter and John heal a lame man. They preach to the witnesses to the miracle and proclaim the power of the risen Jesus. Acts 4- the priests etc are upset by this preaching. Tossed Peter and John in Jail until morning. The church grows to about 5 thousand. Peter and John get to testify before their accusers about what happened to Jesus. They are threatened and released. Acts 5- Ananias & Sapphira die because they lied about their land sale. Gamaliel. I have read some interesting things about him. Was he cowardly or wise? Acts 6- The first deacons (7) are chosen to steward the distribution of food etc. Stephen is seized and will be the first to be martyred.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

