jump to navigation

Drinking Living Water- Day 4 March 12, 2011

Posted by michaelnjohns in Uncategorized.
trackback

Drinking Living Water from a Fire Hose – Day 4: Exodus 22-40, Psalms 19-23, Proverbs 4, Matthew 27-Mark 5

Exodus 22- Has some interesting instructions about property and fairness, but also instructs not to curse the leader of the people -:28-the President seems to catch quite a bit of flak and I wonder if some Americans have cursed him. I have tried to be careful about this, and have told my children to pray for him. :22-23 teaches not to opress the widows and fatherless, or there will be retribution if they cry out to God. He has a special place in his heart for them. :25 says if you make a loan to “one of my people” you’re not supposed to charge interest. I’d like to find a Christian banker and see what they think of this verse. It’s bad business but I’d call it good faith. 23:2-3 teaches about peer pressure – share that with your kids but meditate on that one for yourself. 4-5 we are supposed to help people if they need help, even if they hate us. 10-12 the land needs a sabbath rest in the 7th year. I suppose if one had 7 gardens they could rotate crops in 6 and leave the 7th unplanted. 13 we’re not even supposed to say the names of other gods, much less pray to them. I am fascinated by Ex24:10- sounds almost like they’re describing how God wore blue shoes. Exodus 27, the lamps in the temple were to burn from evening until morning- all night. Exodus 28- A curious article of clothing, the breastpiece -“means of making decisions” was a reminder to the leaders to use prayer and God’s guidance to make wise decisions to lead the people. Isaiah 59:17 and Ephesians 6:14 has this spiritually rendered as the breastplate of righteousness, available to us all in order to make wise (righteous) decisions and judgements. Exodus 32-how quick (40 days) the people turned to other Gods, and Aaron lied and told Moses that the calf jumped out of the fire when he melted the gold. Ex 37 The Craftsman’s name Bezalel means “in the shadow of God.” But I found a very interesting article about the name Bezalel (“God’s Onion”) here: http://www.abarim-publications.com/Meaning/Bezalel.html Exodus 40 I was taught, and still belive, that the cloud by day was God’s protection from the heat of the sun, and the fire by night was to keep the camp warm. The nomadic Israel had central air during the day and heat at night.

Psalm 19 is one of my favorite Psalms. It has ties through the whole Bible, from Genesis 1:14 – “let them be for signs, and for seasons, and for days, and for years” says the KJV- to Revelation 12. There are 3 heavens mentioned in the Bible, all neatly found in Deuteronomy, but I’m getting ahead of myself in my reading: II Corinthians 12:2 mentions the “third heaven,” and here they are in Deuteronomy: 1st: the sky (Deut 11:17 and 28:12), 2nd: outer space (Deut 4:19), and 3rd: God’s dwelling place (Deut 4:36 and 26:15). Psalm 21 is a great praise Psalm, and I think a Messianic prophecy- neatly divided at verse 8. The first part shows how Jesus endured suffering and was then brought back to life and glorified eternally, and the second talks about when He returns to conquer his enemies finally. The Psalmist can’t restrain himself, after the description of God’s ultimate victory over his enemies in battle he just HAS to let out one last hallelujah: “Be exalted in your strength, LORD; We will sing and praise your might.” Amen!

Psalm 22 depicts for me the crucifixion, in all its’ graphic and gory detail. See also Matthew 27. Luke 23, John 19. I frequently wonder if Jesus was actually reciting this Psalm while he was on the cross. I don’t think that everything he said was heard, or perhaps not spoken out loud, but Psalm 22:1 was very well understood, 15 “…my mouth is dry” (see John 19:28), and 22:31 “oshe”
“he did” rendered into Greek as “tetelestai”, or “done.” It’s amazing to me.

Psalm 23: From what is to me the most traumatic of the Psalms, in the same day’s reading I move to what is thought by many to be the most comforting of all Psalms. The picture of Jesus as our shepherd, taking care of us, sustaining us with food and water. While we “abide” with Him, His Words nail things down for us (Ecclesiastes 12:11 – LOOK! A Carpenter/Shepherd, don’t miss it!) and when we stray He comes after us and lays down his life for us (John 10).

Proverbs 4: As a person prone to stumbling, both physically and spiritually, I crave this guidance. I need a straight path, a road map, and directions. I’m not a guy who’s too proud to ask for directions. I get lost sometimes. How funny that this Proverb mentions guarding one’s heart, and in the earlier reading from Exodus I thought about the Breastplate of Righteousness. And how well planned the reading that one should see both Psalm 22 AND the end of Matthew.

Matthew 27. I frequently wonder about the spiritual state of Judas. He, hand-picked along with the rest of the disciples, realized what he had done, returned the money, and confessed his sin. Then, unable to deal with the guilt and grief over what he had done, committed suicide by strangling (same Greek from which we get “Asphyxiate). Some have said that Judas went to Hell, but who am I to decide his eternal fate? Perhaps, as Jesus forgave “them” while on the cross, and Peter after the resurrection by commissioning him to work for the Kingdom of Heaven, perhaps Jesus could even forgive his betrayer. And by “them,” I mean US, the sinners Christ died for, including those in 27:25. And by “those in 27:25” who claimed their guilt as a curse on themselves and their children, again, I mean, not just those of Jewish descent, but all of us, whose sins he died to pay for.

Mark 1:41 I have no idea why the NIV translators in the 2011 copyright missed this but in 1984 got it right. In 2011 as shown on Bible Gateway, σπλαγχνίζομαι is rendered as “indignant,” and not “moved with compassion.”
Mark 2:1- “when Jesus again entered Capernaum, the people heard that he had come home.” I want to look into this verse some more.
:27- I am so glad that God made a day of rest FOR US, and didn’t make US slaves to a day of rest, however, I am grateful that I can take a day and rest.

Mark 3- I never noticed this before, in Mark Jesus looked at the Pharisees and was angry. I knew he was angry about the Pharisees and Saducees, but this time the word jumped out at me. He was angry, because their hearts were stubborn. He had just asked them about a day of rest as a gift of God to men, and not something to slavishly regulate, and now He’s being condemned for wanting to help someone, to offer them a lifetime of ability instead of disability. They learned nothing from his teaching.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

