jump to navigation

Drinking Living Water- Day 2 March 10, 2011

Posted by michaelnjohns in Uncategorized.
trackback

Drinking Living Water Through a Firehose- Day 2: Genesis 28-50, Psalms 8-16, Proverbs 2, Matthew 10-17

Gen 28- Esau missed out on the blessings of his birthright (not held very dear) and the rightful blessing of his father for the firstborn son. Jacob took all this. Jacob, the deceiver, chosen by God. Esau, mourning his foolish choices and his brother’s deception, wanted so much to have a small measure of his father’s blessing that he took a wife that he believed would make his dad happier than the others he had already chosen. I feel Esau’s pain acutely, not from my own earthly father, but my Heavenly one. My choices, as almost no one knows, have not and do not always honor Him, but I live for a glimpse of His smile, for the knowledge that I did something that made Him happy and didn’t completely disappoint Him with my stupidity. “Jacob have I loved, but Esau I hated?” Malachi 1:3, and Romans 9:13. Oh, Dear God, please bless me in spite of my failures, as you have blessed Adam the first human sinner (Genesis 3:6), Noah the drunkard (Genesis 9:21), Moses the Murderer (Exodus 2:12), Abraham the Liar (Genesis 20:2), Isaac the liar (same lie, Genesis 26:7), Jacob the Deceiver (Genesis 27:19, does this run in the family or what?), and all the other people You chose to bless for no other reason than to show Your goodness to them. Without your blessing I am less than nothing and will never be anything unless You make me something.

Genesis 35:18- Ben-Oni, son of his mother’s (Rachel’s) sorrow, was renamed BenJamin, son of his father’s delight. See Proverbs 10:1, a wise son delights his father, but a foolish son grieves his mother. Jacob saw the effect that missing the blessing had on his brother. Instead of letting his innocent son live under his mother’s sorrow, he wanted him to live under his father’s delight.

Genesis 37:5 What dream have you been given, that God has dreamed about you? What shape is it taking? What shape are you taking under God’s hand in order to live out God’s dream for you?

Psalm 13:3, see Genesis 32:24-25. I already have a limp. If I wrestle with God again I may not be able to walk at all! Psalm 13:6: I will sing the LORD’s praise, for He has been good to me. While all this is true, it could be so much better. Abraham, God’s friend, was blessed by God “in every way.” (Genesis 24:1) Dear God, “I will not let you go until you bless me!” And even then I don’t want to let go. Psalm 16:2, how like my earlier prayer: “I say to the LORD, ‘You are my Lord; apart from you I have no good thing.’ ”

Matthew 11:28 “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. 29 Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. 30 For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”
Matthew 16:16-“You are the Messiah, the Son of the living God.”

Here I am, Lord.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

