jump to navigation

Drinking Living Water – Day 1 March 9, 2011

Posted by michaelnjohns in Uncategorized.
trackback

Drinking Living Water Through a Firehose- Day 1: Genesis 1-27, Psalms 1-7, Proverbs 1, Matthew 1-9

I decided to try again, reading through the Bible in a month. I’m including online references in today’s blog. If you’re interested in checking those out, you won’t regret it. I started early this year trying to get through the Bible in a month, got about halfway through and started skipping days, and then just gave up. So close! Well, I really really want to get through it, so I found another reading plan (see below) and I’m starting again.

I plan to read with an eye toward some topics I am interested in looking into some more. I’m interested in a few topics in the Bible, such as worship, music and singing, mathematics (you might not enjoy that rabbit trail, but I confess I’m a bit odd – I like Math), and my sneaking suspicion that God (and His Son Jesus) have a great senses of humor, expressed in the writing of the Bible. Those are just a few of the trails I’ll go down after I finish reading this, hopefully sometime next month, around April 9th. While reading I will use this blog to record observations, themes I notice, and any impressions I may glean from reading like this. It’s a bit fast, and from my previous attempt, takes about 2 or more hours of reading daily.

First Observation: If I read 2.4 hours a day, it’s 1/10 of every day. That is what’s called a “tithe.” I just find that very interesting. If you have nothing to give God monetarily, you still have your time to offer, and I believe it is a worthy offering that God will reward. God says to “‘Bring the whole tithe into the storehouse, that there may be food in my house. Test me in this,’ says the LORD Almighty, ‘and see if I will not throw open the floodgates of heaven and pour out so much blessing that there will not be room enough to store it.'” Malachi 3:10 – so let’s see what happens!

http://younghomemakers.blogspot.com/2010/09/bible-in-month-challenge-d.html for the reading plan. http://www.biblegateway.com/ for the text, (I’m reading NIV) and http://www.scripture4all.org/OnlineInterlinear/OTpdf/ for interesting insight into the Hebrew, and I’ll get to a Greek reference later, when I run across some rabbit trails in the New Testament readings that I want to run down.

Genesis 1:2 from Scripture4All: הָיְתָה = “she became” chaos and vacancy and darkness. KJV says “was formless and void,” and NIV says “was formless and empty.” I find “became” fascinating. I wonder if that implies that when God made it, it originally wasn’t vacancy, but then later became vacancy for God to refill. Also I see מְרַחֶפֶת translated as “vibrating” over the surface of the waters. VIBRATING? I take this very musically, to mean that before this Creation began, the Spirit of God was SINGING.

Image is a fascinating mathematical concept, and the language is very clear, mankind was created in the IMAGE of God. Just to give you a real-life taste of what I’m talking about, consider – Q: What is the image of a three dimensional thing? A: A two-dimensional thing. This has implications in higher dimensions as well- if we consider that we are 3 -D, existing in a 4th dimension of Time, and God is above all of our dimensionality, then God would be at least 5 or 6 dimensional. Kind of brings the possibility that to reveal Himself to us he needed to show us 3 sides of Himself- Father, Son, and Holy Spirit- all the same God, all existing above time and space, but with different ways of showing. And God said, “Let US make man in OUR image, after OUR likeness.” The Trinity of God all was there in the beginning- Spirit God singing over the waters, Father God speaking, His words becoming the very substance of His commands, Jesus Himself walking in the Garden with Adam and Eve, their Friend. It’s just my opinion though.

I notice all the times God said things were “good,” and “very good,” and then see it is “not good” for man to be alone. Again, just my opinion, but if God says something is good, it’s good. If God says something is evil, or not good, it’s evil, or not good. If God says to do something, and gives His blessing, that thing is good. I notice that God calls a tree the tree of life, and another tree the tree of the knowledge of good and evil. He says humans can eat from all of the trees, but not the one that gives the knowledge of good and evil. If God says not to do something, doing that thing is bad.

Genesis 8- Noah somehow knew that the mountains were covered to a depth of more than 20 feet before the window was opened. I wonder if he had “sounding” equipment under the ark to tell if land was 20 feet or less under him. Noah spent 1 year and 10 days on the ark – They entered in Genesis 7:11 and left in 8:14

Genesis 9:5 has interesting implications. Are there animals in Heaven? My kids want to know. I think if some animals face judgement then perhaps those that don’t are allowed a heavenly existence.

Genesis 17 first changed names: Abram = Exalted Father. While named “Exalted Father,” Abram was not the father of any, but as Abraham, he was “Father of many.” Sarai= Argumentative. Sarah = Princess.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

