jump to navigation

What’s Your Name? Who’s Your Daddy? January 6, 2010

Posted by michaelnjohns in Uncategorized.
trackback

Romans 8:15: For you did not receive a spirit that makes you a slave again to fear, but you received the Spirit of sonship. And by him we cry, “Abba, Father.” Abba is an intimate, loving expression of innocent dependence. It means “Daddy.”

Jesus knew who he was. His name means “God is Help.” He called God the Father his daddy, and “a voice from heaven” (God the Father) called Jesus his “beloved son.” (Matthew 3:17) I picture the prayers Jesus offered, as he was in the habit of doing. I can’t imagine them being all formal and high and lofty. The guy was out of his natural element (heaven) in a weird, physical body with human needs and desires he wasn’t allowed to gratify, worse, he was headed for his own murder, and KNEW it. And yet he took the time in spite of this to show his pure, true love, and his Father’s pure, true love, for us. I picture his prayers being loving and intimate, like a son would speak to his daddy.

In 1968 The Zombies released a hit song Time of the Season which contained the lyric, “What’s your name? Who’s your daddy?” In 2002, Toby Keith released a song called “Who’s Your Daddy?” It seems a timeless question.

Jesus was asked the same question, though not in those exact words. He turned it around and asked them the same question, though again, not in those exact words. His audience had some confused and confusing answers. First they claimed Abraham as their father and lied about slavery (one recalls years of service in Egypt, and in Babylon), and then they claimed God himself as their father. Jesus then answered the question for them. Jesus said he was “the way, the truth, and the life.” If he is “the truth,” then his answer must be the truth. Check out the exchange below: (John 8:31 and following)

31To the Jews who had believed him, Jesus said, “If you hold to my teaching, you are really my disciples. 32Then you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.”
33They answered him, “We are Abraham’s descendants and have never been slaves of anyone. How can you say that we shall be set free?”

34Jesus replied, “I tell you the truth, everyone who sins is a slave to sin. 35Now a slave has no permanent place in the family, but a son belongs to it forever. 36So if the Son sets you free, you will be free indeed. 37I know you are Abraham’s descendants. Yet you are ready to kill me, because you have no room for my word. 38I am telling you what I have seen in the Father’s presence, and you do what you have heard from your father.”

39″Abraham is our father,” they answered.

“If you were Abraham’s children,” said Jesus, “then you would[d] do the things Abraham did. 40As it is, you are determined to kill me, a man who has told you the truth that I heard from God. Abraham did not do such things. 41You are doing the things your own father does.”
“We are not illegitimate children,” they protested. “The only Father we have is God himself.”
42Jesus said to them, “If God were your Father, you would love me, for I came from God and now am here. I have not come on my own; but he sent me. 43Why is my language not clear to you? Because you are unable to hear what I say. 44You belong to your father, the devil, and you want to carry out your father’s desire. He was a murderer from the beginning, not holding to the truth, for there is no truth in him. When he lies, he speaks his native language, for he is a liar and the father of lies. 45Yet because I tell the truth, you do not believe me! 46Can any of you prove me guilty of sin? If I am telling the truth, why don’t you believe me? 47He who belongs to God hears what God says. The reason you do not hear is that you do not belong to God.”

What do you hear? Who do you act like? Who do you believe?

Christ followers have come to be known as Christians. Do you call yourself a Christian? If we follow him then we have been adopted and God is our father as well. If God is our father, then we will begin to act like him. Which begs the questions:

What’s YOUR name? Who’s YOUR daddy?

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

